Spicy Buffalo Chicken Fingers

One thing that has always made us give in and go buy food is the thought of spicy buffalo chicken.  whether it be tenders or wings, doesn’t matter!  That is some good stuff that we both love!  So I decided it was high time to try to figure it out.  My 2 big problems were that I buy chicken breasts in bulk to freeze and use that for the majority of my recipes.  I didn’t really want to go looking for some chicken wings or something similar when I already have a ton of chicken.  Second was that I am not a big fan of frying foods.  I like to oven bake my fries and many other meals that are more popularly fried.  I really wasn’t sure how well it would work to oven bake some good spicy buffalo chicken.

However, after making some just last night.  Yes, with my chicken breasts and yes, oven baked.  I know this will be something we will be making weekly!  I dethawed my chicken and cut of fatty bits and cut down to more to chicken finger size.  I laid out 3 bowls in a row.  First with flour, second with beaten eggs, and third with panko bread crumbs.  I took each piece of chicken and rolled it in each of the bowls in order, flour, eggs, bread crumbs.  Then I laid the chicken on a greased cookie sheet and tossed it in the oven at 425 for 20 min.

 While it was cooking I threw butter, hot sauce, vinegar, etc into a small pot and heated it through till it started boiling then pulled it off the heat and poured it into the closest possible container.

I then took the chicken and dipped it in the sauce thoroughly and laid on a plate to let the excess drip off.  The best part was that since I wasn’t sure how much we would eat I put half of the cooked chicken on a plate and set it to the side in case we wanted more.  Well, my 2 year old, who happens to not be a huge fan of chicken, kept snatching them up and ate like 3 of them along with the food I prepared for him separately.

This seriously though, was just as good if not better than when we go out looking for spicy buffalo chicken fingers.  My husband said he definitely agreed and there wasn’t any chicken left (even though I prepared way more than we should have eaten).

Spicy Buffalo Chicken Fingers

2 lbs chicken

1 cup flour

5 eggs beaten

1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs

Sauce:

1/2 cup butter

2/3 cup hot sauce

2 TB vinegar

2 TB water

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp salt

optional for thicker sauce add 1-2 tsp cornstarch

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 425 F.  Cut chicken to 1/2 inch thickness about 2 inches in length.  Roll in flour, then eggs and finally bread crumbs.  Lay out on greased cookie sheet and cook for 15 to 20 min (until cooked through).

In a small pot on medium heat melt butter.  Add hot sauce, vinegar and water.  Bring to a boil.  add garlic powder, salt and for thicker sauce cornstarch. Take off the heat and whisk well.  Gently roll cooked chicken in sauce and serve.

Leave a Reply

