Easy Banana Bread

My husband absolutely LOVES banana bread.  Apparently it is also something that our son has inherited from him.  And lets be honest, soft and sweet, banana bread it an amazing treat that is easy to justify that it is bread and not a dessert…. right?

Well excuses aside it is one of our favorites.  We invite the neighbors over when we make a double batch and sit out on the porch while the kids play and adults & kids alike eat a bunch of banana bread.  I love the recipe that I have for banana bread.  It’s quick and easy to whip up and is all ingredients that I have one hand.  With exception of the over ripe bananas.  We usually make it when the bananas get a little to freckly and brown for us to enjoy eating.  However, our grocery store will put their bananas that are growing old into a basket and sell them 3lbs/$1 and then we can go a little crazy on the banana bread.  Hence, eating it on our porch with our neighbors.

I LOVE my bosch and wouldn’t live without out it.  I whip this up using my cookie dough paddles in the bosch.  Starting with the butter, sugar and eggs.

I always mash up the bananas really good until it pretty much turns into mush.  I’ve even used bananas that weren’t quite ripe enough and just mashed them really good until the also turned into mush.  I just added an extra banana and the banana flavor didn’t seem to be lost even though the bananas weren’t exactly ripe.

Now obviously the chocolate chips are an optional part.  But if you are making banana bread that why not?  Once it’s all mixed up you can start pouring into you pans.

When I made banana bread this particular moment I was in a hurry and had other things I had to go run and do.  So I decided to ask my hubby to please check on and pull the banana bread out when it was done.  I also warned him to check with a toothpick so the center wouldn’t end up caved in and uncooked.

Yes, yes this is what I came home to.  I had to laugh and say, well if I want something done right……  My husband is actually a great cook but if he has other things he doing then it can become a problem.  So when you cook banana bread.  Depending on your oven it may take a little longer for it to be completely cooked.  For my family, we like our banana bread to be soft from top to bottom.  And even if it’s getting hard on top you still want to cook it all the way.  To get it back to nice and soft on top is as simple as wrapping it in plastic wrap while it is still a little warm.  The heat will soften up the top of the banana bread and you will have never known it got all crunchy on top.

 

Banana Bread

3/4 cup melted butter

2 cups sugar

3 eggs

5 ripened mashed bananas

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 salt

1 – 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Directions

preheat oven to 350 F.  cream together butter and sugar for 2 minutes.  gradually add eggs (one at a time) mixing completely.  Add mashed bananas and vanilla.  In a small bowl mix together the flour, baking soda, and salt.  Add flour while mixing until combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.

spray baking dish with baking spray and add mixture.  Fill pans about 2/3 full.  Cook large loaf pans 50-1 hour and small loaf pan 30 minutes (toothpick should come out mostly clean).  Let cool 10 minutes and remove from pan.  Place on rack and let cool an additional 10-20 min then wrap in plastic wrap.

Leave a Reply

