Tuna Macaroni Bake

This recipe is one that I got from my mother.  I absolutely loved this as a kid and I still love the taste and the feeling of being a kid again that it brings me.  The wonderful thing is being able to share it now with my own family.  My son just eats it up.

It’s also a very simple recipe.  It does need some time to cook but if you plan for it, then it’s 5 minutes to prep, set a timer, and let the oven do the work.  Seriously though, noodles, cheese, and sneak in some good dha with a little bit of tuna.  Good stuff!

The other great thing is all these ingredients are stuff that I at least already have in my pantry on hand.  All I have to do is start cooking the pasta, toss it all into a bowl, mix it up and put it in a pan in the oven.

wp-1487879854697.jpg

It takes about an hour to cook covered, I like to pull it out, add some extra cheese on top and put it back in the oven uncovered just until the cheese melts.  Then it’s just cut up and serve.

wp-1487879848571.jpgwp-1487879842074.jpg

Tuna Macaroni Bake

3 cups cooked macaroni (approx 1 1/2 cups dry)

2 eggs, well beaten

1 cup milk

3/4 tsp dry mustard (opt)

1 Tbs grated onion

3/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups grated cheese

1 (7 oz) can tuna, drained

additional 1/2 cup cheese to top

Preheat oven to 375 F.  Mix together all ingredients.  Put in greased baking dish and cover.  Bake for 1 hour.  Uncover and add cheese.  Put back in oven till cheese melts approximately 5 minutes. Makes 6-9 servings.

Leave a Reply

