Sweet and Sour Chicken

I absolutely love Chinese food.  From cream cheese wontons, ham fried rice, and one of my absolute favorites.  Sweet and sour chicken!  However I swear every time we order out we always end up spending at least thirty buck on just two of us!  That would put me in major trouble one day when I have kids old enough to want Chinese as much as we do.  However, I’m on my way to figuring out some great recipes that I can make right at home and and at affordable price.

I certainly hope to be expanding this and if any of you food afficienados have your own recipes please, please, please send them my way.  For now, whenever I am feeling a Chinese craving sweet and sour chicken and fried rice more than sufficiently satisfies that particular craving.

The chicken is actually pretty simple and costs very little.  You just need to cut up your chicken cover it in corn starch first then dip in eggs.  Toss into the frying pan, hot enough that it will brown the outside without cooking it all the way through.  Mix it in your sauce and cook it.  The corn starch and eggs make a nice thin breading and baking it in the oven keeps the chicken soft and tender.   Wow, now my mouth is watering.  I may be having Chinese for dinner two nights in a row!

 

sweet-and-sour-chicken-with-ham-fried-rice

Chicken

2 chicken breast

Salt & Pepper to taste

1 cup of Corn Starch

2 eggs, beaten

Canola Oil

Sweet Sauce:

3/4 cup of sugar

2 TBS Ketchup

3 TBS BBQ Sauce

1/2 cup Vinegar

1 TBS Soy Sauce

Red Pepper Flakes for some spice

Pre-heat the oven to 325. Cut chicken into cubes. Season with salt and pepper. Take two bowls and beat three eggs in one and corn starch in the other. Dip the chicken in the corn starch first, then in the eggs.

Heat the oil in a frying pan on high heat and till chicken starts to brown slightly but is cook cooked completely. Place the browned chicken in a square pan.

In a small bowl, add all ingredients and stir with a fork.  pour over chicken and cook for 45 min.  Use a large spoon to turn over and cover the chicken in sauce again every 10 to 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

